Cosmetics

Hard Candy Top Ten Palette and Lash Ink Reviews

Hey everyone!

I was at Walmart the other day, and while perusing through the cosmetics section, I saw the Hard Candy display.  I’ve actually never tried Hard Candy–I find a lot of people have mixed feelings about it.  I decided to try it out for myself anyway, and ended up being pretty happy with what I picked up!Top 10 and Lash Ink

First, I grabbed the Hard Candy Top Ten Palette in Naturally Gorgeous.

Hard Candy Top 10 Open

Here’s what the Top Ten palette looks like.  To be honest, when I first saw this, I thought “Naked dupe!”.  When I got it home, I looked it up and apparently a lot of other people thought this, too.  Now, while it may have some colours that are similar, I find that this palette has more of a gold tone to most of the shades.  The shadows are also pretty shimmery.  I used the sponge-tip applicator to do the swatches, but just for the record: like almost every other makeup junkie in existence, I hate these things!  Fortunately for me, I drop them in the sink drain quite often when I’m opening various new eyeshadows.  It’s also unfortunate, because I have to get them out; but it gives me extra justification to throw the little buggers away.

top 10 swatches

These actually turned out to be a lot more pigmented than I expected when I bought them.  When I went to wash the swatches off with soap, the darker browns actually took a little bit of scrubbing to get off (which I like, because it means they’ll last a bit better).  Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by this palette.  It also comes in different colours; there are pink, purple, blue, and green palettes as well.  They were sold out of the green one when I was there, but I may have to pick it up sometime.

Next, I saw the Hard Candy Lash Ink 4 Day Lash Stain.

hardcandy lash ink

hardcandy lash ink open

Okay, now lets not get carried away here.  4 days? Nah.  It lasted me about 48 hours (yes, I tested it) but it still could’ve done with some touch ups.  I bought this mainly because I’ve been using Tarte’s 4-day Stain for a long time.  I absolutely love the one from Tarte, but it is really more like a regular mascara than a stain.  The Lash Ink, on the other hand, is a stain.  I was reading reviews where people were not happy with it because they said “It’s like painting your eyelashes” “It’s thin” etc.  Yes girls, it’s a stain after all! It is supposed to be like that.  And personally, I love that its like that, because it isn’t clumpy and it really separates and lengthens, with a beautiful ‘lots of lashes’ look.  I think it looks gorgeous on, and I’ve been looking for a lash stain like this for a long time.  Also, just like my Tarte one, it doesn’t irritate my eyes like most mascaras do.  I think I can handle reapplying it more than it claims is necessary!

I’m happy with the recent additions to my collection, and with Hard Candy so far.

Have you tried any Hard Candy products?  Have you tried any other lash stains that you loved/hated?  Let me know in the comments!

That’s all for now,

xox The Beauty Bard ♥

Follow me on:

Bloglovin’ . Twitter . Facebook . Tumblr

Leave a Reply

