Cosmetics

e.l.f. Essential Lip Stain Review

Today, I’m going to do a quick review of the e.l.f. Essential Lip Stains.  I got these quite a while ago, and I still love them and use them quite often.  They’ve lasted quite a lot longer than I thought they would when I got them about a year ago.

e.l.f. Essential Lip Stain

These lip stains have a really rich, pigmented colour.  You can just swipe it on lightly for a light touch of colour, but you have to be careful when applying it.  These can build to be quite dark, especially Berry Blush, and it is a stain after all… the first time I tried Berry Blush, I realised just how dark it was, and it stained my lips overnight.  At least that lends something to its staying power; but with the darker colours, just apply it carefully and you’ll be fine.  Also, make sure your lips are clean, dry, and smooth (exfoliate and moisturize them first) otherwise it will apply unevenly (like any other lip stain).

These have pretty good staying power compared with the Covergirl and Revlon lip stains I’ve tried.  I took these pictures about 3 hours ago, ate dinner, drank some tea, and am writing this post, and the Berry Blush is still going strong.  They also fade evenly unlike any other lip stains I’ve tried (which I love!) so you don’t end up with it bleeding to the edge of your lips.

Some people aren’t a fan of the marker applicator, because apparently it dries out.  Mine are still quite moist after a year though, and if it gets a little bit dry, I find shaking it gently helps.  Holding it marker-end-down while applying it helps, too.

So, today I decided to do some swatches for you so you can see what they look like on.  The colours on the tube really don’t match the colours all that well. 


Bare lips (with a small amount of lip balm).  For comparison.

Pink Petal

Pink Petal (very soft, baby pink)

Nude Nectar

Nude Nectar (a nude/red with orange undertones)

Berry Blush

Berry Blush (A deep, rich red)

stain swatches

From left to right: Pink Petal, Nude Nectar, Berry Blush

Personally, I like Nude Nectar the best.  Pink Petal is also really nice for everyday.  Berry Blush is good if you’re going for a dramatic look, but I sometimes find it too dark on me.  Maybe in the summer when I have a tan, it’ll look better!

I think maybe some of you may be wondering “But what about the e.l.f. Studio Lip Stains?”.  I have these too, and to be honest, I’m not a huge fan of them.  They’re really more of a long-wear lipstick, where you apply the lipstick, let it dry, and apply the gloss.  They do look nice and come in some pretty shades, but if you’re looking for a stain, I wouldn’t recommend the Studio ‘stains’.

I would say if you’re looking for some lip stains to try, the e.l.f. Essential Lip Stains are definitely worth it, especially for the price.

Have you tried these, or any other lip stains?  Did you like them?  Let me know in the comments!

Until next time,

xox The Beauty Bard ♥

Follow me on:

Bloglovin’ . Twitter . Facebook . Tumblr

Leave a Reply

