Nails

Essie ‘Matte About You’ Review

Today, I’m going to be reviewing Essie’s mattifying top coat: Matte About You!
I’ve been wanting a matte top coat for a while, but haven’t seen one around in drugstores.  Luckily, I managed to run across one at my local beauty supply store.  I couldn’t wait to get it home and try it out!  If you don’t know what a matte top coat does: it’s like your normal clear polish top coat, but instead of making your nails glossy or shiny, it dries to a matte, satiny finish.

The first thing I really liked about this polish is just how fast it dries!  It literally dries within seconds; you can watch your favourite shade go from shiny to matte right before your eyes! (Sometimes watching paint dry can be fun, afterall ;)).  It gives quite an even, smooth, satiny finish.  It does need to applied fairly quickly because it does dry so quickly–I’m not talking warp speed, but don’t worry about being a perfectionist.  As long as you cover your nail in a thin coat, it will dry streak-free.  This is great, because apparently some matte top coats have a tendency to dry streaky–but not Essie’s!

Please remember, though (I made this mistake): even though it feels like it’s dry right away, it really isn’t completely dry!  You can still smudge and dent it, so still be as careful as you are with your nails any other time until they’ve properly dried.

Matte About You

As you can see, it gives a really beautiful effect.  I did a clear shiny top coat on my tips; I saw this online and have been wanting to try it for so long.  Also, I hear that matte top coats also have a tendency to chip very easily, so maybe this will help with that issue.  The picture really doesn’t even do it justice, but you get the idea.

If you want to know how I did the look above, it just takes a few simple steps!

        1. Prep your nails to be painted.
        2. Apply your base coat (if you use one).
        3. Apply the desired shade of nail polish.  I used Covergirl Outlast Stay Brilliant Nail Gloss in the colour 190, ‘Wine To Five’.  I applied two coats, and allowed it to dry.
        4. Once that’s dry, apply one thin coat of Essie’s Matte About You, and allow it to dry.
        5. Now, it’s time to do the tips!  Some people use tape or french manicure tip guides.  I personally do it freehand, which can be ‘fun’ to say the least.  I used Revlon Extra Life Top Coat.  (Revlon is my favourite top coat–I find it makes your nails really glossy, which I love when I’m not doing matte).  Also, as a suggestion, when you’re applying top coat any time you paint your nails, make sure to paint the edge of your tip.  This helps to really seal the nail polish and avoid chipping.
        6. Allow that to dry, and there you have it–beautiful matte nails with glossy tips!

I was really worried that this would be hard to apply, like when the Shatter craze happened–I waited weeks to get my hands on a bottle of OPI Shatter, and got it home only to realise that it was harder to apply evenly than I thought.  I messed my nails up a whole bunch of times learning to apply just the right amount.  This matte polish was way easier than I thought it would be, and anyone can do it and get a gorgeous matte finish.

Be creative with it!  I’ve seen some really cute design ideas on beauty blogs with these matte top coats.  For example, instead of glossy tips, why not try glossy polka-dots? Or stripes?

Have you tried Matte About You, or any other matte polish?  Do you like it?  If you’ve got any cool design ideas, let me know, and I will (attempt to) do it!

Hope you’re all having a wonderful day.

xox The Beauty Bard ♥

Follow me on:

Bloglovin’ . Twitter . Facebook . Tumblr

 

Leave a Reply

