Uncategorized

Types of Lip Products

Today, I’m going to be doing the last of my ‘types of’ series for now.  I want to get on with product reviews, ideas, and so on, so if you do want me to continue these ‘types of’ posts, please let me know and I will. 🙂

So, types of lip products!  Lip products can really brighten up your face and make you look natural and healthy, or you can go for a dramatic, sophisticated look.  Lip colour can be so much fun to play with because of all the effects you can get.  Personally, I have probably bought way too many (more than I could ever use) lip products in my life.  I still plan on buying more, though; I’m a lip product junkie!

A few of the most common types of lip products:

  • Lipstick – Ah yes, the classic choice.  Lipstick nowadays comes in so many different shades–pretty much any colour you could possibly think of!  It also comes in a multitude of different finishes, like shiny/glossy, satin, and matte, for example.  You can choose between moisturizing, SPF, long-wear, plumping, and so much more.  I personally prefer both moisturizing as well as staying power, because my lips tend to get really dry with most lipsticks, and it doesn’t look nice.  Now, I say staying power because I personally don’t like the long-wear ones that you have to let dry and apply the gloss.  I find those lipsticks really dry out my lips and are difficult to get off!   My personal favourite of all the lipsticks I’ve used so far (and that’s quite a few!) is the Covergirl Lip Perfection Lipstick in the colour 270 – Rush.  This is a subtle yet gorgeous rosey/deep-pink shade, and this lipstick really lasts!! You don’t have to touch up every hour with this, it easily lasts a few hours.  Great buy!

  • Lip Balm – There are so many options out there for all you lip balm fanatics (like me)!  Having smooth, healthy lips is a huge thing to me, because my lips tend to be so dry.  First, I would recommend you get a good lip exfoliator.  I’ve used the ones from LUSH called Sweet Lips.  Personally, these are tedious to me because they’re in a pot and it gets all over the place.  I don’t really feel like I could use this outside, because you end up with sugar all over your fingers and lips, falling all over the place!  They are very good at exfoliating your lips, though, and they smell awesome.  One I just got and love is the e.l.f. Studio Lip Exfoliator.  This one can also be a little bit crumbly, but because it is in a lipstick form, it is much easier to apply and I end up using it more than the one I had from LUSH.  Remember not to overexfoliate your lips, though.  Once every other day or so works for me.  Now, in terms of lip balms, my current favourite is Maybelline New York Baby Lips Moisturizing Lip Balm.  I have this in Peppermint and Peach Kiss, and I love both!  Seriously, these things moisturize!  I find sometimes coloured lip balms come off chalky, but not these–the Peach Kiss is just as moisturizing as the Peppermint and the colour is really pretty.  I actually just finished my Peppermint one yesterday, and this is rare, because I have so many products that I almost never finish anything.  I like to put this on liberally before bed, and in the morning, I find my lips are moisturized, plump, and ready for any necessary exfoliation.  Love this.

  • Lip Stains These are a fabulous option if you want bold, long-wearing colour, but dont like the feeling of lipstick.  Again, exfoliate and moisturize your lips first, because stains tend to settle into cracks and can look really uneven and strange if your lips are chapped.  I’ve tried a few lip stains, but there are definitely a few that I would like to try (such as Benefit Cosmetics Benetint – I’ve heard such great things about this!).  The first one I’ve tried is CoverGirl Outlast Lipstain.  Now, I liked the colour of this one (I believe mine was Sassy Mauve).  However, I found that it didn’t really apply evenly because it was quite watery, and didn’t last long.  It also did not fade evenly, so it ended up bleeding to the edges of my lips!  So I really would recommend against this one.  I’ve also tried Revlon Just Bitten Lipstain Plus Balm in Mystical.  This one definitely had better staying power, and I love the balm on the end because it isn’t heavy (I use it over top of all my lip stains, not only the one it came with).  However, although it did last longer, it still didn’t fade very evenly (the bleeding was nowhere near as noticeable as the CG one, though).  Some women love these though, so thats just my opinion!  I was at a loss, looking for stains but not wanting to spend a lot of money trying another stain that didn’t perform.  I love most e.l.f. products, so I decided to try out their e.l.f. Essential Lip Stain.  I bought it in Pink Petal, Nude Nectar, and Berry Blush.  I absolutely love the colours of the first two, but Berry Blush was way too dark for me!  These lip stains are great (dare I say better than the more expensive ones!).  Now, they still take a bit of practice to apply properly, but I think that they really layer nicely, so you can build up to your desired colour.  These last a few hours, and–for once–fade evenly!!! I am obsessed with these lip stains and I definitely think they are worth it for the price!  More expensive does not always equal better quality.  If you’re looking for a lip stain that doesn’t break the bank, try these out; I’m sure you’ll love them as much as I do!

e.l.f. Essential Lip Stain

 

  • Lip Gloss – A lot of women think of young girls when they think of lip gloss, but there are so many options to choose from, you may be surprised to find that there is something out there you’d love!  Glosses are great for people whose lips tend to look dry with lipsticks, or who just want a shiny, fun finish.  The only downside to lip glosses is that they can tend to feel goopy or sticky, which I personally don’t like very much; but I have found a few which look great and don’t feel heavy!  The first one (and this is one I’ve loved for years–they’ve actually changed the names of the colours since I started buying them, I believe) is CoverGirl Wetslicks Lipgloss.  I love this in the colour 320, Sugar Maple.  It doesn’t feel sticky, and does last well for a lip gloss.  (Quick tip! When you’re applying lip gloss with a doe foot applicator, try scraping a bit off on the opening before putting it on if you want to avoid it being too thick.  It’s way easier to build than to have to wipe it off because you put too much on!).  My next recommendation (and I just got this a few days ago–I’ll be doing a review soon) is the e.l.f. Essential Jumbo Lip Gloss Stick.  I got it in Sangria Starters.  I accidentally bought two, but I don’t regret it, because I ended up really liking this! It has a shiny finish, but isn’t thick, and has a soft sheen of colour which can be built to something a little more bold.  They’re also very moisturizing, which I adore.  You could almost say these are more like a moisturizing lipstick with a shiny finish, because they just really don’t feel like gloss at all.  Now, be careful when buying these, because some of them are shimmery!  If you’re buying them online, use the zoom feature on the site to look at the tip.  Some people don’t like shimmery lip colour, so just a word of warning.  My final recommendation is also an old favourite: MAC Lipglass in Lust.  I remember quite a few years ago when I tested this out at MAC, and every time I walked by that counter after that I was so tempted to buy it (I don’t usually buy tons of MAC).  So, I finally did.  Again, this doesn’t feel thick, and its a gorgeous shade of deep pink which almost exactly matches my natural lip colour.  You can remove some from the applicator to make it a lipstick-type finish, or put it on liberally for a great shine with a pop of colour.  They have lots of shades to choose from.

 

Wow, that turned into a long post!  If you made it this far, I really hope I helped you out with some recommendations depending on what it is you’re looking for in a lip product.  If you have anything that you absolutely love that I didn’t mention here, or something that I mentioned that you didn’t like, leave a comment telling me what it was and why you did/didn’t like it. 🙂

See you soon!

xox The Beauty Bard ♥

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

